World Parachutists Over Phorty Society

Although the Parachutists Over Phorty Society had members in many countries, it did not begin to have a World identity until the first World POPS Championships (WPC) in Australia in 1989. A stronger global community was then forged by the election of Mike Allum as the first World TopPOP at the third WPC in Spain in 1995. The main responsibility of the World TopPOP is the organization of the next WPC.

WPCs now take place every two to three years and are an opportunity to renew old friendships, make new ones and take part in friendly competition with and against POPS members from all over the world.

Future WPCs

The next World POPS meet is scheduled to be held at Skydive Nagambie in Nagambie, Victoria, Australia from the 19 to the 28 April 2018. Save the dates! More details at

Previous WPCs

The POPS held its first WPC in 1989 in Australia and the second was in 1993 hosted by Skydive Orlando in Umatilla, Florida, USA. The third WPC was in 1995 at the Centro de Paracaidismo de Costa Brava in Empuriabrava, Catalonia, Spain. At that time, Mike Allum of the UK was appointed by the National TopPOPs as the first World TopPOP with specific responsibility for arranging the next WPC. The Fourth WPC was held in 1997 at the Royal Jordanian Parachute Club at Aqaba in Jordan, where Alicia Moorehead replaced Mike as World TopPOP. The Fifth WPC took place in 1999 at the Fraser Valley Skydiving Centre in Chilliwack, British Columbia, Canada. At this WPC, Alicia Moorehead stepped down as World TopPOP and handed over to John Crowhurst. The Sixth WPC took place in 2002 in Matamata, New Zealand. Theo Fritschy agreed to take on the role of World TopPOP. The Seventh WPC took place in 2004 in Gruyeres,Switzerland, at the Epagny Aerodrome. Theo Fritschy handed over to Karl Poruben. The Eighth WPC took place in 2006 in Eloy, Arizona, USA. Karl Poruben handed over to Ian "Robbo" Robertson. The Ninth WPC took place in 2008 in Toogoolawah, Queensland, Australia. Robbo handed over to Lamberto Serenelli. The Tenth WPC took place at the Body Flight University Parachuting School, Reggio Emilia, Italy in 2010. Lamberto handed over to Ronald van Rijn The Eleventh WPC was held in Teuge, the Netherlands in 2012. Ronald handed over to Buzz Bennett. The twelfth WPC was held in San Juan City, Argentina in 2014. The thirteenth WPC was held August 5-13, 2016, at Skydive Dädalus, Eisenach, Germany.

POPS home POPS  World Home World  Championships National Top POPS World Top POPS National Records World Records Awards Competition  Rules

Last modified 7 April 2017

Copyright POPS

Shew & Son

Web site by Pete Shew

POPS home
 World Home



World Top POPS
National Records
World Records