top of page
Future World POPS Championships (WPC)


The 16th World POPS Meet and Championship due to take place at Villarrica, Chile from the 14th Feb 2024 to the 29th Feb 2024, has been cancelled. Please direct any questions you have to the website contacts.

World POPS Meet and Championship Rules and Information

Previous WPCs

POPS held its first WPC in 1989 in Australia and the second was in 1993 hosted by Skydive Orlando in Umatilla, Florida, USA.


The third WPC was in 1995 at the Centro de Paracaidismo de Costa Brava in Empuriabrava, Catalonia, Spain.


At that time, Mike Allum of the UK was appointed by the National TOP POPs, as the first World TOP POP (WTP) with specific responsibility for arranging the next WPC.


The Fourth WPC was held in 1997 at the Royal Jordanian Parachute Club at Aqaba in Jordan, where Alicia Moorehead replaced Mike as World TopPOP.


The Fifth WPC took place in 1999 at the Fraser Valley Skydiving Centre in Chilliwack, British Columbia, Canada. At this WPC, Alicia Moorehead stepped down as World TopPOP and handed over to John Crowhurst.


The Sixth WPC took place in 2002 in Matamata, New Zealand. Theo Fritschy agreed to take on the role of World TopPOP.


The Seventh WPC took place in 2004 in Gruyeres, Switzerland, at the Epagny Aerodrome. Theo Fritschy handed over to Karl Poruben.


The Eighth WPC took place in 2006 in Eloy, Arizona, USA. Karl Poruben handed over to Ian "Robbo" Robertson.


The Ninth WPC took place in 2008 in Toogoolawah, Queensland, Australia. Robbo handed over to Lamberto Serenelli.


The Tenth WPC took place at the Body Flight University Parachuting School, Reggio Emilia, Italy in 2010. Lamberto handed over to Ronald van Rijn The Eleventh WPC was held in Teuge, the Netherlands in 2012. Ronald handed over to Buzz Bennett.


The twelfth WPC was held in San Juan City, Argentina in 2014. Buzz Bennett handed the WTP to Volker Cornils.


The thirteenth WPC was held August 5-13, 2016, at Skydive Dädalus, Eisenach, Germany. Volker Cornils handed the WTP to Gary Zuiderwyk.

The fourteenth WPC was held 19-28 April 2018 Skydive Nagambie, Nagambie, Victoria, Australia. Gary Zuiderwyk handed the WTP to Polly Chandler.

The fifteenth WPC was held on the 19-29 Aug 2022, at Skydive Netheravon (Army Parachute Association), Netheravon, United Kingdom, after a long delay due to a world pandemic. Polly Chandler handed the WTP to Simon Donnelly (UK TOP POP) on behalf of Ivan Rios, who will be the next WTP, for WPC 2024 in Chile.  

The Sixteenth WPC is due to be held at Villarrica, Chile in 2024.

bottom of page